How Amway grew my faith

AMWAT AT JAPAN
Image via Wikipedia

Okay, back ground on me.

By the age of 10, I had officially entered the Amway world.  When most people think of Amway, they picture annoying sales or pyramid plans.  For me, it was a family adventure.  My dad died and Mom, not knowing what avenue to take, explored Amway.  She did so with familial safety.  My aunt and uncle had invested and pursued and grown a decent Amway business which operated out of their garage.  With observations of their success, my mom joined the business venture as did my grandparents.  The result, I heard every motivational speech possible in the early 1980’s and saw or personally spoke with multiple inspirational authors and even astronauts.

This Amway background rarely rears its head these days, but yesterday on the phone with a friend, the Amway child came out.  My friend is struggling with life right now, she’s job hunting and frustrated by the word “no”.  This word has been my friend for many years.  According to my mother, it was my first word.  We are well acquainted.

For my friend, however, “no” had newly entered her life and it wasn’t welcome.  As she expressed her stresses to me, I recalled an Amway training moment.  As these master marketeers trained their corps for selling multiple items, the sales people received instruction on how to be prepared.  For every 100 “no” responses, they would hear one valuable “yes”.  The more people they approached, the more willing they were to hear “no”, the more likely they would hear “yes”.

It made me think of what it feels like sometimes to share Jesus with people.  We don’t want to hear “no” so we don’t even try.  But isn’t the one “yes” worth the effort?

The Bible puts it this way:

“Then Jesus told them this parable: ‘Suppose one of you has a hundred sheep and loses one of them. Doesn’t he leave the ninety-nine in the open country and go after the lost sheep until he finds it?  And when he finds it, he joyfully puts it on his shoulders and goes home. Then he calls his friends and neighbors together and says, ‘Rejoice with me; I have found my lost sheep.’  I tell you that in the same way there will be more rejoicing in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine righteous persons who do not need to repent.”    Luke 15:3-7

This is a part of my life I don’t often venture down but in a recent conversation with a friend, I found my inner Amway child.

One thought on “How Amway grew my faith

  1. It’s always interesting what you remember from your younger life and I am pleased it was something you could share to help others. I really enjoyed your article.

Leave a Reply

