Walk now to enable walking later

Walking for Health in Epsom, England. A group ...
Image via Wikipedia

Have you seen the latest news about the extremely obese gentleman who recently passed away? He’d sat in the same chair, possibly for years. He was only 43.  When found, officials discovered his skin had attached itself to the chair. Wow.

Here’s a motivational moment. According to Newton’s first law of motion, “an object at rest stays at rest, but an object at motion stays in motion…” Often I think about exercise as a tool for creating a beautiful body.  That’s what all the gyms advertise.  A nice mental conversation ensues.  I think, “If I try it and don’t become beautiful, I’m  a failure.”  If you know me, you know I’m not fond of failure.  Is anyone?  But, what if the goal of exercising is simply to enable our ability to keep moving?

If a picture of that gentleman ever hits the blogosphere, I’m going to need to make a copy and post it on my refrigerator as a visual reminder of what happens when we rest too much.  Okay, I’m motivated now.  If you see me out walking with my newest partner, our dog Wall-e, you’ll know my goal.  Keep this body in motion.

2 thoughts on “Walk now to enable walking later

Leave a Reply

