Don’t hate the wait

Big lines at Disneyland
Image by Tom Simpson via Flickr

I have this clear memory of my third grade year of school. My teacher was passionate about lines. She clearly adored and dreamt of the perfect line experience. I recall times when we’d line up outside her door ready to enter the classroom,  but our imperfect waiting skills cost us time and trouble. She’d look at our wiggling bodies and hear our giggles and the chatted moments back and forth and she’d stand there, waiting. After a bit, she’d look at us and tell us that we weren’t entering the room until we settled down and stood properly in line. I found that incredibly domineering and unnecessary. I mean really! This wasn’t a practical life skill like reading or math. How often would I have to wait in line? What a petty lady she was. Or so I thought.

That memory returned to me as our family sat in line after line at Disneyland the other day. Not only was that a valuable life lesson she sought to teach us, but one I would invite into my life intentionally. After all, I paid to enter that amusement park for the purpose of enjoying its rides and benefits. I did this knowing full well that lines were a part of the experience. I came ready to wait. We had snacks in a backpack which we produced while enduring each patience challenging moment.

How ironic that my life encounters waiting times which I resent just as much as I did that original teacher. When job circumstances or personal trials cause me to wait, I rarely appreciate God’s direction. Maybe I assume that if I’m not in motion nothing is really happening. It can be amazingly difficult to stop and sit still. Yet, once again, it is a valuable life lesson, one which God instructs us to embrace. 

The Psalms are loaded with examples of our need to wait.  King David repeatedly struggled with it while also embracing its reality and importance.  My favorite verses on this topic are found in Psalm 130:

“I wait for the LORD, my whole being waits, and in his word I put my hope.
I wait for the Lord more than watchmen wait for the morning, more than watchmen wait for the morning.”

Are you waiting for something?  If so, please remember, God’s plans for us are so much better than a ride at Disneyland.  If we can wait for those, we can also wait for Him. 

Please share your favorite verses on the topic of waiting. 

One thought on “Don’t hate the wait

  1. Thank you for this post. I have been looking at many blogs concerning the Christian life. Yours is well written and a pleasure to read.

Leave a Reply

