There’s a hole in my crown

Dentist drilling a girls tooth
Image via Wikipedia

Perhaps it’s my macabre sense of humor or something else, but when a piece of my tooth broke off the other day, I started thinking of various crowns in our lives. The tooth in question is a crown. That’s not what we usually think of when we picture crowns but suddenly I’m thinking of the old hymn, “Crown Him with many crowns”. And I’m realizing I do, in fact, have many crowns, on my teeth.

I didn’t understand why Jesus would be crowned with many crowns. A Dr. Suess-like image of Christ with multiple crowns stacked upon His head flashed through my mind. But now, I find those thoughts being redirected.

A crown on my tooth is a protector, but it’s also a source of beauty for a decaying molar. Even within our mouths, we seek a type of beauty and adornment, how bizarre.  To be fair, it also provides the ability for us to bite or chew, which is  desired in a tooth.

What if the crowns on Christ, as the hymn states, are representative of successes and even His own miraculous beauty. There is great beauty in the One who would give of Himself entirely for us.  Are those crowns trophies?  Maybe they declare His stature as King of Kings.  Whatever the reason, scripture gives us an amazingly powerful image of Christ in the book of Revelation

It says, “I saw heaven standing open and there before me was a white horse, whose rider is called Faithful and True. With justice he judges and wages war. His eyes are like blazing fire, and on his head are many crowns. He has a name written on him that no one knows but he himself. He is dressed in a robe dipped in blood, and his name is the Word of God. The armies of heaven were following him, riding on white horses and dressed in fine linen, white and clean. Coming out of his mouth is a sharp sword with which to strike down the nations. ‘He will rule them with an iron scepter.’ He treads the winepress of the fury of the wrath of God Almighty. On his robe and on his thigh he has this name written:

   KING OF KINGS AND LORD OF LORDS. “

Even as I read it and write it, I’m stunned by the strength of Christ in this passage.  Earlier within Revelation, an equally revealing image presents itself.  People called “the elders” are laying their crowns before the throne of God.  The things we can acquire, the power we possess, the successes we experience are nothing comparatively speaking, but they are like our crowns.  If we trust God enough, we can offer the things we treasure to Him, recognizing His incomparable power, strength and mercy.

I sat in the dentist office today as she repaired the hole in my crown.  My thoughts wandered to my damaged crown.  We all have them, and I don’t mean the toothy kind.  As Easter approaches, let’s realize the great power of the One who sacrificed Himself for us.  The One with the crowns stacked upon His head.  Are we willing to lay our crowns at His feet?  And as we surrender the treasures of our lives to Him, we might discover a new treasure even greater. 

1 Corinthians 9:25

“Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last, but we do it to get a crown that will last forever.”

Let’s learn to let go of the things we think will give us a type of glory and appreciate real glory.  Then, we will receive something much better.

One thought on “There’s a hole in my crown

Leave a Reply

