God wants my best?

Spring Lamb
Image by EssjayNZ via Flickr

Yesterday, our youngest daughter and I travelled to the grocery store to pick up a few items for our family’s Passover celebration.  One piece of that experience is a lamb bone.  Because God directed the Israelites to choose a spotless, unblemished lamb to sacrifice as a demonstration of their faith, many Passover meals include a plate with a lamb bone on it to symbolically recollect that moment.

My daughter and I picked up the required bone and continued on our shopping journey when she asked me why we needed the bone.  We’ve done this many times in her life, and she suddenly chirped an answer to her own question, “Oh yeah, because they cooked a lamb, right.”

I responded with the parental, “yes, dear,” then filled in more info for her inquiring mind.  “It wasn’t just any lamb,” I said.

“It wasn’t?” Her eyes perked up ready to hear about what kind of mysterious lamb they chose.

“It was their best lamb,”  I continued.

I could see her mind working in those few moments. “Why was it the best lamb?” She asked.  I had waited for this one.

“Because,” I informed her, “God wants us to give Him our best.” Her brain began doing its thing again and she remained silent for a second.

“God wants my best!?” She more declared than asked.  The thought seemed to shatter her world view.  She has attended church her entire, seven-year, life.  She’s put money into the offering plate and helped with food drives.  But this thought startled her.  It was as if she said so much more in her little question than what came out her mouth.  Clearly, her attitude had been to do what mommy or daddy told her, give her minimum and keep the status quo.

We all do that sometimes.  It’s like we keep our own personal tally sheet.  We think of what represents our proper reimbursement to God .  We mentally tell ourselves, “I’ve done this, and this, and this, that should make God happy.”  But the question at hand asks if it was our best.

As our conversation continued, I shared with her how God never asks something He won’t give.  Jesus represented God’s best given to us.  John the Baptist declared upon seeing Him, “Look, the Lamb of God…” (John 1:29).  Though He was tempted and treated horribly, Jesus never sinned.  Thus, He is the unblemished One who can be offered as a proper sacrifice to show faith.  God demonstrates His faith in us through this act.

The Bible says, “But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”  Romans 5:8.

I noticed a twitter trend called #ifitwasuptome.  It caused me to think about this more.  If it was up to me, I wouldn’t offer my best, because I like my stuff.  If it was up to me, I wouldn’t be saved, because I mess up too often.  If it was up to me, the world would be lost.  Praise God, it’s not up to me.

One thought on “God wants my best?

Leave a Reply

