Procrastinator keeps friends waiting, but will they?

Railroad watch

The Bible instructs us in James 5:16 to confess our sins to one another and pray for one another.  Here’s my confession:

“My name is Paula, and I’m a procrastinator.”

I don’t want to put things off, but I do.  For whatever reason, I occasionally find myself running late, sometimes very late.  It upsets business plans and frustrates friends and family, and yet I continue.  As I struggle with this sin, please keep me in prayer.

I confess also that I’ve learned interesting things from this person trial.  Other people procrastinate too.  Their issue may not mirror mine but it exists none-the-less.

Whether we keep people waiting at a restaurant or put off pertinent conversations or delay decisions, we all procrastinate in one way or another and we need each other’s compassion and prayer.

Will our friends and family stick with us through our delays?  Will our problems disappear if we ignore them?

These valuable questions cause us to seek to over come our challenges but one delay in particular cannot be put off forever.  Deciding to give God a chance.

Early in my dating journey with my future husband, I put him through his paces.  I exposed my sin early.  On our first and second dates, I arrived 30 minutes past the scheduled time.  Inexcusable, right?

Apparently, he saw something worth waiting for and it made me appreciate him all the more and inspired me to work on this arena of my life.

God does the same for us.  Many of us think we’ll approach Him and seek Him when we grow old or when life’s difficulties approach.  He faithfully waits.  He sees something worth the wait in each of us.

But will He wait forever?  He will, but we won’t know when the end comes.  There will come a point in the relationship where time runs out and our procrastinating ways cost us an amazing friendship.

“The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness. Instead he is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance.”  2 Peter 3:9

As Tim saw more in me than my problematic procrastinating ways, so God sees more in us.  We do have to show up and make the effort though.  Are you or someone you know putting off God?  Let’s confess together:

“Hi, my name is __________, and I’m a procrastinator.  Please forgive me.”

Do you procrastinate?  I’d love to pray for you. Let’s share our confessions and if you have advice on overcoming this issue, let the fingers do the typing and offer guidance.

2 thoughts on “Procrastinator keeps friends waiting, but will they?

  1. This is a very good post. Thank you for your wisdom. I have shared this on my facebook page with my friends there along side my blog from vineandbranchworldministries.com. Peace, purpose and prosperity be yours to enjoy. Davis

Leave a Reply

