When awkward meets adept

USSR stamp dedicated to Albert Einstein
Image via Wikipedia

I’m painting my children’s bedroom.  Large flowers pop from the walls to create a fairy land.  Creativity bursts from me and I need to accomplish a new goal, but at the same time I struggle with being a profoundly sloppy painter.  Awkward and adept meet.

We often choose to quit or avoid those things which challenge us and fail to allow us to succeed.  We’d rather sit on the couch and watch someone else wipeout than tumble for ourselves in track or gym.

Here’s a thought, what if everyone experiences awkward and adept moments?

Albert Einstein’s mental adept-ness shined through his theory of relativity, but his mental awkwardness showed up when he needed spelling help.  But he never quit, neither should we.

Our weaknesses shouldn’t limit our willingness to try.  Let’s own our awkward moments and enjoy adept opportunities.  One connects to the other in all of us, whether we know it or not.

If we allow God to lead our lives, we may even find our awkward moments becoming points of strength.

“That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”  2 Corinthians 12:10

My choice today:

Trust God to take my awkward moments and make me adept for His sake.

Leave a Reply

